💬 Chatbots and assistants · 📱 Kids' phones, watches, tablets and speakers
Explore with Alexa
By Amazon. Visit Explore with Alexa
Desk research from the maker's own pages. Not yet tried by us. Checked 2026-10-24.
A kids' feature on Echo smart speakers where a child talks with Alexa about a topic they are curious about. Alexa answers with kid-friendly facts, asks trivia questions, plays short games and suggests new topics. The new version runs on Alexa+, Amazon's generative AI assistant, and needs a child profile with voice ID or a device in Kids Mode. An older version, limited to topics like animals, works only with an Amazon Kids+ subscription.
Our take: Fits families already on Echo and Prime who want voice-only curiosity chats; families wary of AI chat or always-on microphones should skip it.
| Ages it suits | young kids with an Amazon Kids profile |
|---|---|
| What its terms say about age | Set up by a parent on the parent's Amazon account. Amazon's privacy notice says under-18s may use Amazon only with a parent involved, and it does not knowingly collect personal information from children under 13 without consent. (terms) |
| Price | Paid. Needs Alexa+ on a supported Echo; Alexa+ on Echo devices comes with a paid Prime membership (Oct 2026). The older version needs Amazon Kids+, from $7.99 a month for Prime members or $8.99 without. |
| Works on | Alexa, A device |
| Account | A parent's account |
| Ads | Not stated |
| In-app purchases | Not stated |
| The AI in it | Alexa+ holds an open-ended voice conversation with the child and steers it toward kid-friendly facts and follow-up topics. |
What's good
- Follows a child's own questions by voice
- No reading or screen needed
- Parent sets it up with a child profile
- Ends when the child says goodbye
Watch for
- A generative AI talking with young kids can get facts wrong
- Always-listening speaker in the home
- Needs Prime or Kids+ and a newer Echo
- Amazon's past fine over kids' voice recordings
Data and privacy
Amazon's Children's Privacy Disclosure says it uses child data to provide and improve services, including personalized recommendations. If a parent has not given permission, some kids' Alexa features may still process the child's voice but Amazon says it will not store those recordings. Read the privacy policy.
Does it work?
The maker's own claims only; no independent study of Explore with Alexa was found. In May 2023 the FTC and DOJ charged Amazon with keeping kids' Alexa voice recordings indefinitely and ignoring deletion requests; the proposed order carried a $25 million penalty.
In the Big Index
- On the list Top 10 setups for a child who wants an AI to answer their questions
- On the list 8 kid-friendly AI chatbots and exactly how to set each up
- On the list Parental controls for 12 AI chatbots, step by step
- On the list 8 smart speaker and voice assistant setups for kids (pre-readers especially)
- On the list 10 AI privacy settings to change on day one
- On the list 14 AI and tech gifts for kids under $100 (Christmas 2026)
- On the list 15 best coding robots for kids
- On the list 12 AI toys for toddlers and preschoolers, and what to check first
- On the list 17 best screen-free learning toys for the AI age
- On the list 10 kid-friendly smart speakers and displays, and how they handle kids
- On the list 15 best tablets and devices for kids who learn
- Choke: What the Secrets of the Brain Reveal About Getting It Right When You Have To
- Mathematical Mindsets
- Botley the Coding Robot
- Echo Dot Kids
- Amazon kids' devices (Echo Kids, Fire Kids tablets)
- The maker in the who's who: Amazon
Alternatives to Explore with Alexa
Desk researchFree, with paid extras
ChatGPT
OpenAI · ages 13-17 in the teen experience; adults
Most teens will meet it anyway, so link a parent account and turn on Study Mode; families wanting a tutor that never gives answers should look at a purpose-built one.
Desk researchFree, with paid extrasNo ads
Claude
Anthropic · ages 18+ (adults)
A tool for parents and adult students, not for children; families wanting a teen chatbot need one whose terms allow teens.
Desk researchPaidNo ads
Curio plush (Grem, Grok, Gabbo)
Curio Interactive · ages about 3-12
One of the more careful AI plush toys on paper, but it is still an open chatbot for small children; suits parents who will read transcripts, while families who want no AI conversations should skip it.
Desk researchPaidNo ads
DIY.org (ChatDino, game builder)
DIY (AstroSafe family) · ages about 8-18 (the maker says 8 to 18)
Suits kids 8 and up who want to make and share games with a parent watching the portal; skip if you want kids learning to code by hand.
Desk researchPaidNo ads
Echo Dot Kids (with Alexa+)
Amazon · ages 3-12
Fine for bedtime stories and quick questions if parents check and delete recordings; skip it if a microphone in the bedroom bothers you.
Desk researchFree, with paid extrasNo ads
Flint
Flint, Inc. · ages grades 3-12 (schools usually start in grade 3)
A reasonable choice for schools that want an AI tutor teachers can supervise closely; children under 13 can use it only through a school.
Where these facts come from
- https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=TGP0QGRmXh78KbB9vL
- https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=TViNVZd4uEAp4ujWgV
- https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=TNchvgYCsQJ0gCzV4M
- https://www.amazon.com/alexaplus
- https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=201222340
- https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=202185560
- https://www.amazon.com/gp/help/customer/display.html?nodeId=GX7NJQ4ZB8MHFRNJ
- https://www.aboutamazon.com/news/devices/what-is-amazon-kids-plus-subscription
- https://www.ftc.gov/news-events/news/press-releases/2023/05/ftc-doj-charge-amazon-violating-childrens-privacy-law-keeping-kids-alexa-voice-recordings-forever
Prices, terms and features change. Nobody paid to be listed, nothing here is an affiliate link, and Peabody never rates itself. Where we and the maker disagree, the maker's own pages are the ones to trust.